Homemade Chocolate Pudding

Hello Friends.

I apologize for my absence. I came down with a stomach bug; much thanks to the little ones I work with, and haven’t really been able to kick it. With that, I haven’t had the opportunity to make anything new but I figured as I laid here wasting away in bed I could post a little something new that I have come to love. What is it you ask?

Homemade Chocolate Pudding!

Now that I’ve made my own pudding from scratch I’m not sure I will ever go back to the boxed stuff. I found this recipe courtesy of AllRecipes.com and made a few tweaks.  I apologize now for the sloppy picture below, as I hadn’t meant for it to be posted on the blog, but I supposed you have to work with what you got, right?

You Will Need:

  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 3 heaping tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder (Depending on how chocolatey you like your pudding
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/2 cups milk
  • 2 tablespoons margarine or butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Peanut Butter Chips, Chocolate Chips, Fruit, Whipped Cream (optional)

Mix together sugar, cocoa powder, cornstarch and salt. Place in a saucepan over medium heat and add milk slowly, whisking continuously as you pour. Bring mixture to a boil and stir constantly! If you stop whisking you will end up chunky pudding. Make sure you are scraping the bottom of the pan from the moment you stir in the milk. Allow pudding to thicken up and remove from heat. Add in butter and vanilla and stir until incorporated.

If you are looking to add some texture or extra flavor to your pudding now is the time to plop in some of those chocolate or peanut butter chips. They get just melty enough before popping the pudding in the fridge.

If you prefer your chocolate pudding just the way it is, pour it into small bowls or ramekins and pop into the fridge. Top with whipped cream or fresh fruit!

A dirty little secret of mine: This recipe is easy to quarter in order to make individual pudding anytime you want….which I have definitely done.

Leave a Reply

