Banana-Almond Butter Smoothie

I am so proud to share that I recently completed my third half marathon recently over Memorial Day weekend! I still can’t believe it was three years ago that I crossed the finish line of the Hartford Half Marathon and exclaimed “I’m never doing this again!” Well, three years later here I am, and doing it better than I ever thought I would. Since running that first race I’ve really begun to understand the importance of not only fueling my body while running but also before and after any workout. Making all of these changes (more on that later) has helped me shave a total of more than 20 minutes off my first time; a pretty awesome feeling!

Crossing the finish line at the Boston's Run to Remember

Crossing the finish line at the Boston’s Run to Remember

With that, here is an amazing tasting and easy breakfast or post-workout meal that has become a staple in my diet. This Banana-Almond Butter Smoothie especially hits the spot after a great run or sweaty spin class!

Banana-Almond Butter Smoothie

photo

  • 1 Frozen Banana
  • 1 Heaping scoop of Almond Butter
  • 1 Cup Almond Milk
  • 1/2 Tbl Cocoa Powder (Sometimes I substitute this with Zico Chocolate Coconut Water if I have it on hand-then adjust Almond Milk accordingly)
  • 1/2 tsp Flax Meal (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp Hemp Hearts (optional)

Throw it all into your blender and blend away! I always give it a taste test before pouring it into a nice tall glass, well not before sneaking another scoop of almond butter first….it’s a weakness. Enjoy!

20130711-170612.jpg

Leave a Reply

