Summer Avocado Pasta

20130709-205736.jpg

I have been dreaming about making this pasta salad all day! Pathetic, I know, but I have been seeing so many different avocado pasta recipes lately and couldn’t wait to try my hand at my own version. My first attempt at this definitely needs a few tweaks but was all and all pretty good. To be honest, when I made the sauce I panicked because it had WAY too much lemon. I even gave my boyfriend fair warning that he was  “NOT going to like this…”Surprisingly, he disagreed…yay! However, he also agreed that there was way too much lemon happening, but nothing we couldn’t fix next time! I altered the recipe to what I plan to do when I make it again…because I will definitely be making this again!

Summer Avocado Pasta

  • Half a box Farfalle, Medium Shell or any pasta you like. (I used these fun Elbow Twists!)
  • 1 ripe avocado; peeled and pitted
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/2 TBL lemon juice (start small and add as needed
  • 1 TBL mayo
  • 1 1/2 TBL olive oil
  • 5 fresh basil leaves (optional)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper

Follow instructions for cooking on pasta box. Strain and allow to cool. Refrigerate completely after cooking. I cooked my noodles the night before so I could quickly make the sauce and dig in!

photo-2
Add avocado, garlic, lemon juice, mayo, (you could also use non-fat plan greek yogurt instead!) olive oil, basil, salt and pepper. Puree until smooth. Give the sauce a taste test and add any additional salt, pepper or lemon. If the sauce is too thick add a little olive oil. Similarly, if it’s too thin, add a little more mayo (or yogurt).

photo-1

Pour this over your pasta and toss well. Top with some grated Parmesan cheese and enjoy! This meal will mostly likely not keep long due to the avocado, so enjoy it in one night.
20130709-212252.jpg

Leave a Reply

