Chickpea Salad Sandwich

After a wonderful five day vacation in the cape I am sad and happy to say we’re back! I suppose coming home is always bittersweet though. I am of course going to miss the family time, all the delicious seafood, the beach and the whole not working thing, but I have to admit it’s nice to come back to my normal routines at home. Of course, I wish home wasn’t a 95 degree apartment with only one air conditioner in the bedroom….

Over the week I tried my best to stay as physically active as possible, weed out the unnecessary junk food and save my appetite for only the really good stuff a.k.a Arnold’s clam strips and clam chowder. Yum!

The best type of splurge! (Don't worry, this wasn't all mine!)

The best type of splurge! (Don’t worry, this wasn’t all mine!)

I did this by getting up early to exercise and packing some of my own healthy snacks, such as Larabars, trail mix and almond butter so I didn’t resort to (only) saltwater taffy and beer for fuel.

That being said, with all of my splurges and the heat being pretty much unbearable I figured a nice light, healthy and most importantly oven-free meal was in order.

These Chickpea Salad Sandwiches are a kind of mock-tunafish sandwich using greek yogurt instead of mayo. Feel free to use half or full mayo if you prefer though.

Chickpea Salad Sandwich
1 can chickpeas, rinsed and dried
1/2 cup plain non-fat greek yogurt
1/4 cup diced onion
1/4 cup diced celery
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1/4 tsp dried dill

20130718-155514.jpgAfter rinsing, smash chickpeas in a bowl. I used a potato masher but a fork will work just fine.

photo 2-1Once the beans are mashed, add greek yogurt a little at a time until you reach your desired consistency. Incorporate onion, celery, salt, pepper and dill.

Serve on your favorite bread, in a wrap or with veggies.

Leave a Reply

