Tuna Noodle Salad

20130719-183354.jpgI am so apprehensive to post this recipe as I am afraid of the scrutiny. The scrutiny? Yes! Because I am embarrassed to admit this is yet another mayo-based recipe! Ah, the horror! I swear I cook with other ingredients normally, but the heat is slowly withering me and the less stove/oven use the better. Unfortunately a lot of summer meals depend on mayo, so mayo I will eat!

However, as I have mentioned in other posts, non-fat, plain greek yogurt goes a long way in substituting, so I definitely used a little to offset the high fat content of the mayonnaise.

When I asked my boyfriend what he thought of “tuna noodle” for dinner his immediate reaction was “Blech!” But once he realized it wasn’t his moms hot, cheesy tuna casserole he came around, and I think you will too!

 

Tuna Noodle Salad

1 cup elbow macaroni, uncooked
1 can tuna, drained
1/2 cup peas
1/4 cup diced onion
3 tablespoons mayonnaise
2 tablespoons plain non-fat greek yogurt
1/4 tsp pepper
Pinch of salt

Cook pasta according to directions. Drain and allow to cool in refrigerator for at least two hours. I often make the pasta a day before and allow it to sit in the refrigerator over night.
*Note: The colder the pasta is, the less mayo it will absorb, meaning the less you have to use. (And the less fat you’re consuming!)

20130719-182326.jpgOnce pasta is cooled add tuna, onion, peas, mayo, greek yogurt, salt and pepper. Incorporate ingredients well. Serve cold on a hot day!

20130719-182235.jpg

Leave a Reply

