Bacon & Brussel Sprout Pasta

IMG_1269Traffic. It will take you from the best of moods to the very worst. Driving in Boston is literally painful. I was heading home after a long day working at my first job, followed by my extra side job with my stomach grumbling. I could not wait to get home and make this Bacon & Brussel Sprout Pasta when BAM! Red light after red light, brake lights and more brake lights. AH! I’m sorry to all the people I would have offended if they heard me swearing in my car. Perhaps an overreaction offset by hunger, but hey, it happens…right? The only thing to pull me out of my hunger related funk? Pasta! I hope this recipe can turn even the worst of your frowns upside down!

Bacon & Brussel Sprout Pasta

  • 1/2 a box pasta; spaghetti, linguini or fettuccine
  • 1/2 an onion; sliced or chopped
  • 8 brussel sprouts; halved, and sliced
  • 4 slices of bacon; cooked and crumbled  (*Turkey bacon is a wonderful substitute which I often use)
  • 2 tbl olive oil
  • 1/4 cup seasoned oil or olive oil (I use Wegmans basting oil with garlic & herbs)
  • salt & pepper

*Note: If you chose to use regular olive oil instead of a seasoned oil, I recommend adding a variety of spices to this dish, such as more salt and pepper, as well as garlic, basil or even parsley. Be creative!

Cook bacon according to package. Set aside on paper towels to cool. Crumble when cooled.

Cook pasta according to directions, strain and set aside. I used homemade, frozen fettuccine noodles, pictured above.
IMG_1270In a non-stick pan heat 2 tablespoons olive oil at medium heat. Saute onions and brussel sprouts until tender. Onions should be translucent and brussel sprouts should have wilted down. Sprinkle with a small amount of salt and pepper.
IMG_1272Add noodles to hot pan and add seasoned oil, a little at a time. Use your best judgement when adding oil. The warm pasta will soak up some of the oil, but you don’t want your noodles sitting in a pool of oil. Once heated through add bacon and toss around. Give it a nibble and add salt and pepper to taste.
IMG_1273Pour into a bowl and top with grated cheese and get ready to feel a whole lot better than you did before you ate!

Leave a Reply

