Homemade Whole Wheat Pasta

I have had a box of whole wheat rotini sitting on my shelf for years. Years! Seriously. I’m sure it’s expired. It kind of just hangs out next to my quinoa and all my other pasta. I know, whole wheat is better for you and I do almost always opt for the healthier option, but for some reason when I’m grabbing a box of pasta it’s the good old white stuff. Maybe it’s the Italian in me?

Anywho, something about that boxed whole wheat pasta is super unappealing to me, but these Homemade Whole Wheat noodles are anything but unappealing. This recipe is great, so give it a try!

IMG_1269Homemade Whole Wheat Pasta

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup white flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup water

The first time I made homemade pasta it was a disaster! I was swearing and covered in flour and cursing Paul for asking me to make it. He woke up and found me in the kitchen yelling at the dough, with the pastry brush stuck in the KitchenAid pasta attachment. (Yea, that happened) Things have changed since then.

In a bowl mix together the flours and salt. Make a well. Whisk together the eggs and water, and pour into the well and begin to mix well until a ball is formed. Turn out onto a floured board and knead for 20 turns. OR Throw it all into your standing mixer and mix until incorporated. Attach dough hook and allow to knead for about 5 minutes.
IMG_1286
IMG_1288If the dough is too dry sprinkle it with water, a little at a time. I also added about a 1/2 tsp of olive oil.

Form dough into a ball and allow to rest for about 30 minutes.

Now you’re ready to make your pasta! Roll it out thin and cut your pasta, either by hand or with your mixer attachments.
IMG_1289
IMG_1290When your noodles are cut, coat lightly with flour. Place small bundles of noodles on a cookie sheet and pop into the freezer for a few minutes. Once slightly hardened pop into tupperware and back into the freezer until you’re ready to use.

*Remember homemade noodles often take less time to cook, so make sure you watch them carefully!
IMG_1291
3 thoughts on “Homemade Whole Wheat Pasta

  1. I normally wait much longer for my wholewheat before I roll my pasta but may be because I used 100% wholewheat. I don’t even knead them until after resting period. This is how I do it wholewheat flour, salt, water, egg mix together in lump and cover with plastic, let the gluten develop for 1-2 hour, then I start kneading with the MACHINE and dough hook add oil to it a little bit. Knead until smooth, then I might knead by hand for another minute or two and rest again another half hour before I roll. The rest period helps like a pasta fairy comes in to wave her magic wand on my pasta 🙂 If I don’t rest, I can’t even roll it in sheet! Wholewheat need more time to develop gluten…sorry for unsolicited advice but I LOVE wholewheat pasta and love to see people love them too 🙂

    • Thanks for your feedback! I’ve only made pasta a handful of times and this was my first attempt at whole wheat so any tips or advice are appreciated!

  2. Pingback: Sesame Noodles with Tofu | Crumbs In Bed

Leave a Reply

