Portobello Mushroom Bruschetta

Portobello mushrooms kind of used to repulse me. Mostly just the look of them. Scraping them out still kind of irks me. However….that being said, I will WILLING scrape any number of mushrooms to reap the delicious benefits of these Portobello Mushroom Bruschettas! They are hearty, tasty and combine all the wonderful Italian flavors I love. I was so disappointed with my final pictures, but I promise the taste is better than my photography skills!

Portobello Mushroom Bruschetta

  • 4 portobello mushroom
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (no salt added)
  • 1/3 cup onion; chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic; minced
  • 1 tbl fresh oregano; chopped
  • Fresh basil (about 10 leaves); chopped
  • Fresh mozzarella
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • Olive oil
  • Balsamic vinegar

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

IMG_0951Remove stem and gills from mushrooms. I use a spoon to scrape the bottom, then rinse and pat them dry. Place on a baking sheet.

Chop onion and garlic. Drizzle a small amount of olive oil in a pan and heat to medium. Add garlic and onions and sauté until translucent.IMG_0953Add diced tomatoes and about half the juice from the can. Add oregano, 5 basil leaves , salt and pepper. Simmer mixture at a medium heat for about 8 minutes, or until juices evaporate.

Sprinkle a small amount of salt and pepper over mushrooms. Spoon tomato mixture evenly into each mushroom. Sprinkle each mushroom with remaining basil leaves. Drizzle a small amount of balsamic vinegar over each.IMG_0954Place one slice of mozzarella on each mushroom. (I got a little overzealous cheese-wise as you can see from my pictures!)

Drizzle olive oil over mushrooms and finish with a pinch of salt.

Pop into the oven for 10 minutes. Finish by broiling for 2-3 minutes. Enjoy!IMG_0959My pictures don’t do these justice!

*Want some delicious Foccacia Bread (or any bread) in the Boston area? Clear Flour Bread is our new hot spot!

Leave a Reply

