Vegetable Ricotta Stuffed Shells

IMG_0972Hello friends! I’m back to the grind after two amazing days off from work. Back to work also means back to my weekly Wednesday night volunteering. Because of this, my Wednesday night dinner usually consists of an easy meal I can reheat once I get home. I’m pleased to announce that tonight was a different story! On my Tuesday off I was able to prep a wonderful meal that Paul easily popped into the oven…with some detailed instructions of course.

Let me tell you, these vegetable stuffed shells are the perfect combination of healthy eating and Yum! They came out absolutely fantastic. I made this recipe for 2 people, but definitely double it up if it suits you!

Vegetable Ricotta Stuffed Shells

  • 1/2 cup diced green zucchini
  • 1/2 cup diced yellow zucchini
  • 1/4 cup diced onion
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrot
  • 1 tbl olive oil
  • 12 jumbo shells
  • 1/2 cup part-skim ricotta cheese
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1 clove garlic; minced
  • Spaghetti sauce (I used about a cup)
  • Salt & pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cook pasta shells according to package. I cooked them until al dente; about 10 minutes. When cooked, drain and set aside.photo 1

Dice onion, green zucchini, yellow zucchini and shred carrot. Heat a pan over medium heat with 1 tablespoon olive oil. Saute veggies for about 10 minutes on a medium-low heat, until everything is soft. *If you need more oil use a little at a time but I sometimes just add a little water. Add a pinch of salt and pepper to the veggies.

IMG_0962IMG_0964IMG_0967

While veggies are cooking, mince garlic. Then whisk egg. Incorporate parmesan cheese, egg and garlic into ricotta cheese. Set aside.

When veggies are cooked, incorporate them into the ricotta mixture.

Spoon a thin layer of spaghetti sauce on the bottom of a glass baking dish. Fill each shell with ricotta mixture and place into dish. Continue filling and placing the remaining shells in the dish. When all the shells are filled, pour sauce sparingly over the shells. I also topped with mozzarella cheese because I had it.

IMG_0970Cover dish with tin foil and cook for 25 minutes. After 25 minutes, remove foil and cook for another 10-15 minutes.

IMG_0971

Leave a Reply

