Sesame Noodles with Tofu

Oh. My. Goodness. These noodles are fantastic! I’ve always wanted to make Sesame Noodles, but I’ve never had the right ingredients. It was kind of one of those meals that required me to buy more than one thing I didn’t already have, so I just kept putting it in my back pocket for another time. Well I finally splurged and purchased the sesame oil and rice vinegar and can now continue to explore new recipes with these fabulous ingredients.

I made my Sesame Noodles with tofu…please don’t say “Blech!” I honestly really enjoy tofu, and Paul likes it too! Can you believe it? It was a really wonderful addition to these noodles so give it a try!

I adapted this recipe from The Pioneer Woman, it’s very similar so I give her the credit for these awesome noodles!

Sesame Noodles with Tofu

1/2 block extra-firm tofu
1/3 cup cornstarch
pinch ginger
Thin noodles; enough for 4 servings (I used my Homemade Whole Wheat Pasta spaghetti noodles)
1/8 cup soy sauce
1 tbl sugar
2 cloves garlic; minced
2 tbl sesame oil
1 tbl rice vinegar
4 tbl canola oil; divided

Serves 4

Cook pasta according to directions. Keep warm until ready to use.IMG_1322

Sauce: Whisk together soy sauce, sugar, sesame oil, rice vinegar, garlic and 2 tbl canola oil in a bowl. Set aside.

Tofu: Cut tofu in half and fold a paper towel in half on a cutting board. Place tofu slices on paper towel and place another folded towel on top. Lightly press on the tofu to soak up liquid. Continue to do this until most of the liquid is absorbed.
IMG_1317Cut up tofu into bite-sized cubes and sprinkle a pinch of ginger onto cubes. Pour cornstarch onto a plate and dredge the tofu pieces in it. Make sure each piece is coated evenly.IMG_1319IMG_1320Heat 2 tbl canola oil to medium heat in a non-stick pan. Add tofu and cook on medium-low until the tofu is crispy and golden. Make sure to continually turn the tofu in order for it to cook evenly on all sides. Set aside.IMG_1321Take strained pasta and add sauce. I did this in the same pan I cooked the pasta in. Why dirty another pan…especially when you don’t have a dishwasher. (ugh!) Incorporate sauce well. Add tofu right before eating. Enjoy! (We did!)IMG_1323IMG_1324

Leave a Reply

