Turkey Stuffed Peppers

Living in the city, let alone an apartment building often leaves me missing the sweet outdoors that come with living in suburbia.  I’m actually desperate enough for fresh air and sunshine that I often sit out on our scary fire escape just to create the illusion of a warm patio in the summer. Gotta work with what ya got I suppose. And who cares if all my neighbors can stare directly out at me in my pajamas reading Runners World…right? Eh.

Anywho, I am just as desperate for an outdoor space as I am for a garden. I visited home this weekend and reaped all of the fabulous benefits of my parents garden. Tomatoes, squash and bell peppers, Oh My! The peppers I received from my parents are itty bitty, but I decided they’d make a super cute stuffed pepper recipe.  We had a lot of extra of the mixture. but we just cooked it in a separate dish and enjoyed it on the side. However, the recipe below is meant for normal sized peppers, so fear not and enjoy!

IMG_1023Turkey Stuffed Peppers

  • 6 medium bell peppers
  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1/2 cup uncooked rice
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 tsp worcestershire
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 8oz cans tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup shredded chedder cheese
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spary a glass baking dish with cooking spray.
Cook 1/2 cup rice with 1 cup water. Follow instructions on box. Set aside

IMG_1019

Cook ground beef on medium heat. Add worcestershire to the meat when it’s just about cooked through. Remove grease and add turkey to rice. Incorporate beans into mixture as well.

IMG_1020

Add tomato sauce, garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper to rice-turkey mixture. Incorporate well and set aside.
IMG_1357
Wash and remove tops and insides of bell peppers. We cut ours in two different ways because we didn’t know which we preferred. After eating, we preferred to cut them lengthwise.
IMG_1356
Whichever way you prefer, fill the bell peppers with rice mixture and top with shredded cheese. IMG_1359IMG_1360
Cook in 350 degree oven for 45 minutes. The peppers came out tender and delicious. If you have extra rice mixture, feel free to cook that up for about 20 minutes in the oven and enjoy on the side!
IMG_1023IMG_1022

Leave a Reply

