Zucchini Turkey Burgers

As I’m sure most people with gardens know, zucchini grows like a weed. Summer months consist of everything zucchini!. I obviously do not have a garden of my own as living in the city doesn’t often allow for that. However, when I visited my parents house this past weekend I reaped the benefits of their hard work…again! They gave me a humongous zucchini that I am sure I will be using for days!

Today I shredded it up and beefed up (metaphorically) some turkey burgers with this lovely vegetable. We ended up using the same amount of meat we normally would, but adding vegetables to your meat is a great way to stretch the amount the recipe makes. It also adds the wonderful nutritional element of more vegetables without anyone really realizing it. I imagine this recipe would be great for picky eaters…although we don’t know anything about that here! 🙂

Zucchini Turkey Burgers

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 2 cups shredded zucchini
  • 1/2 tsp worcestershire
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper

Shred zucchini and squeeze excess water out.IMG_1377

Incorporate all ingredients together. Form 4-6 patties (depending on how big you want them). Press your thumb into the center of each patty. This keeps the meat from puffing up when cooking.IMG_1379

We cooked ours in a skillet. If you choose to do the same, spray a non-stick pan with cooking spray and heat to medium heat. Cook patties slowly, when about halfway cooked through, flip patty over. Cook until the meat is firm to the touch and beginning to brown on the outsides.IMG_1380

Dress it up with cheese, avocado, onions, or condiments.IMG_1381

Leave a Reply

